Astrology-Know Your Destiny Cards

Duality and Polarity


Duality — Masculine and Feminine Signs

Each sign has a masculine or feminine characteristic. These terms should not be confused with male and female. The balance of masculine and feminine, light and dark, or Yang and Yin is the achievement of perfection in the world. The signs alternate in gender around the circle of the zodiac.

Masculine means that the energy of the sign is assertive, aggressive and linear. The masculine signs are diurnal (day-oriented). Air and Fire signs are considered masculine. The masculine signs primarily focus on the spiritual and mental world and are considered Yang or light, and are related to dryness.

Feminine means that the energy of the sign is receptive, magnetic and circular. The feminine signs are nocturnal (night-oriented). Earth and Water signs are considered feminine. The feminine signs primarily focus on the emotional and material world and are considered as Yin or dark and are related to moisture.

Polarity — Opposite Signs

Here we explore some of the themes associated with the sign and house polarities. Although the signs can be in different houses than shown here, we are using the natural order for demonstration purposes.

The polarities are signs that are opposite each other. These signs may be opposite in their characteristics, and they also complement each other. Often people will be attracted to persons whose sign is the polar opposite of their Sun sign or rising (Ascendant) sign.

Let’s explore the six sign and house polarities in astrology that are natural oppositions.
pol 1-7

1st / 7th House — Aries / Libra Sign Polarity

1st House / Aries — Self-assertion
7th House / Libra — Compromise

If you have planets in both Aries and Libra, or both in the 1st and 7th houses then you need to learn the balance between these two needs.
Pol 2-8

2nd / 8th House – Taurus / Scorpio Sign Polarity

2nd House / Taurus — Form
8th House / Scorpio — Transformation

This polarity deals with form, matter, personal values, material goods, possessions, security (Taurus and the 2nd house) versus destruction of form, shared possessions, change, transformation (Scorpio and the eighth house).
Pol 3-9

3rd / 9th House – Gemini / Sagittarius Sign Polarity

3rd House / Gemini — Lower Mind
9th House / Sagittarius — Higher Mind

Gemini and the third house rule curiosity and logical thinking. Sagittarius and the ninth house rule a broader way of thinking–the quest for meaning, ideas that expand upon the here and now.
Pol 4-10

4th / 10th House – Cancer / Capricorn Sign Polarity

4th House / Cancer — Attachments and Love
10th House / Capricorn — Achievements, Rewards/Punishments

This polarity deals with the balance of the private life, domesticity, the need for a home base, and nurturance (Cancer and the 4th house) versus the public life, career, reputation, and accountability (Capricorn and the tenth house). In some ways, this polarity deals with the balance between unconditional love and conditional love.
Pol 5-11

5th / 11th House – Leo / Aquarius Sign Polarity

5th House / Leo — Personal
11th House / Aquarius — Impersonal

Leo and the fifth house rule creative self-expression and the boost to the individual ego that we receive through pleasure and romance, while Aquarius and the eleventh house rule the group, more impersonal friendships, and objectivity.
Pol 6-12

6th / 12th House – Virgo / Pisces Sign Polarity

6th House / Virgo — Tools for Day-to-Day Life
12th House / Pisces — Tools for Our Spirituality

This polarity is the service axis, and it deals with the balance between day-to-day functions and routines, physical health, and the need for order (Virgo and the sixth house) and vision, spiritual health, disorder, and the infinite (Pisces and twelfth house).


Astrology Basics